YQ is yogurt-cultured ultra-filtered milk.
In a basic sense, ultra-filtered milk is just like regular milk, except with most of milk’s inherent sugars, or lactose, filtered out. All milk contains lactose. This naturally occurring sugar is treated like other sugars in the body although it doesn’t deliver much sweetness in milk. Ultra-filtration passes the milk through what is essentially a tiny sieve, to separate out most of the milk sugar from the milk protein resulting in more protein than sugar.
“Yogurt-cultured ultra-filtered milk” is essentially yogurt, except that it starts with ultra-filtered milk, rather than traditional milk. Why essentially? Because yogurt is subject to a very specific regulatory definition determined by the FDA. Under this definition, yogurt must begin with traditional milk, which contains more lactose than our ultra-filtered milk. Because we use ultra-filtered milk, we do not meet the FDA’s definition of “yogurt.” In every other way, YQ is exactly like yogurt. We use yogurt cultures (L. bulgaricus and S. thermophilus) in the same way that yogurt is made.
YQ starts with ultra-filtered milk, rather than traditional milk. Ultra-filtration passes the milk through essentially a tiny sieve, to separate the milk sugar from the milk protein, resulting in less sugar than its leading Greek counterparts.
YQ is made with traditional yogurt cultures – L. bulgaricus and S. thermophilus. These remain live and active for the shelf life, but are not generally considered probiotics.
Yes, YQ lids are widely recyclable.
Yes, YQ cups are recycling symbol #5. The recycling standards vary based on where you live. Please check with your municipality about the ability to recycle items marked #5.
YQ is a playful riff on IQ. You’re smart…and so is YQ with 40% less sugar than the leading Lowfat Greek yogurt and lots of filling protein. Smarter not sweeter!
YQ may be suitable for people who are lactose intolerant but who can still consume small amounts of lactose. It is important to know that while YQ is 99% lactose free, the product still does contain a small amount of lactose.
YQ contains less than 1% lactose.
We don’t add any sugar to our plain flavor. The small amount of sugar (lactose) remaining is what the yogurt cultures did not consume during the fermentation process and what was not filtered out during the ultra-filtration process.
Yes – YQ does not contain gelatin and as such, is vegetarian friendly!
Yes. Our product is Kosher Circle K certified.
Yes. YQ does not contain gluten nor does the equipment that YQ is produced on.
YQ contains no artificial preservatives, no artificial flavors and no colors from artificial sources.